Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Sachin, Dhoni, Sehwag among 9 players nominated for ICC Awards!

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, batting ability Sachin Tendulkar and opener Virender Sehwag are amid the nine cricketers who accept been nominated for the October 6 ICC Awards 2010.

Nine players from four teams accept anniversary been nominated in three altered categories for the accolade which is appointed to be captivated in Bengaluru after this year. Besides the Indian players, Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene will affection acutely in the long-lists for the awards.
In addition, there are nine players who are nominated in two audible categories.

"The ICC Awards are an befalling for the ICC and FICA to accede and bless the arresting performances of the world's top players," said ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.
"It is additionally a adventitious for followers of our abundant action to reflect on some of the abundant cricketing feats they accept witnessed over the accomplished year. This will be the seventh time the awards accept been handed out and acrimonious the winners will not be an accessible assignment for the voting academy," he said.

The seventh anniversary LG ICC Awards, presented in affiliation with the Federation of All-embracing Cricketers' Associations (FICA), includes nine alone prizes and additionally appearance the alternative of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

Also there will be an accolade for the ancillary that has adhered best to the Spirit of Cricket. For the aboriginal time, this year's awards affection a fresh category, the People's Choice Award, which will be called by candid admirers about the apple who will get a adventitious to vote for their favourite amateur online from a short-list of bristles cricketers called by the ICC alternative panel.

The long-lists of nominations were fabricated by a five-man ICC alternative console chaired by above West Indies captain and accepted administrator of the ICC Candid Committee Clive Lloyd.
The console additionally includes above all-embracing players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher.

The ICC Awards commemoration is now in its seventh year and this year it will be captivated in Bengaluru, India. Previous ceremonies were captivated in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you love my blog?